Skip to main content

Databases: Databases by Subject

List of databases by subject

Library Databases by Subject

 

 

Agriculture, Landscaping, and Veterinary Science [return to top]


Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database of articles, book chapters and newspapers.

AGRICOLA
Agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators.

Environment Complete
Journal articles dating back to 1888.

Films on Demand Streaming Videos

Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Literature Index
Journal articles on gardening and plants.

GreenFile
Journal articles concerning global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.

Veterinary Science
Veterinary Science (Network of Animal Health) veterinary and animal health journal titles.

 


Biographies [return to top]

 

Biography Reference Bank
Full text profiles of notable individuals from biographical reference books.

Gale Virtual Reference LibraryCollection of reference books such as biographies, education, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, the nation and world, religion, science, and social science.

 


Business [return to top]

 

Business Source Complete
Journal articles, author profiles, financial data, books, reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and faculty seminars (videos).

Films on Demand Streaming Videos

Hospitality and Tourism Complete
Journal articles, research and industry news relating to all areas of domestic and international hospitality and tourism.

Regional Business News
80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Research Starters - Business
Comprehensive, yet concise summary articles of topics.

 


Career and Vocational [return to top]

 

Book Collection – Nonfiction (Ebsco)
Academic books as well as career, health, sports, adventure, technology, and life skills.

E-Books (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary collection of electronic books, representing a wide range of research, reference, and reading materials.

Ebrary (Proquest)
Ebooks covering academic and technical subjects.

Films on Demand Streaming Videos

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Career information including duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations.

Salem Press
Career information in Business, Chemistry, Communications & Media, Environment & Conservation, Hospitality & Tourism, Law, Criminal Justice & Emergency Services, Physics

Vocational and Career Collection
Articles from trade and industry-related periodicals.

 


Computer Science [return to top]

 

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary article and book chapters.

Computer Source
Articles on computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.

Films on Demand Streaming Videos

Information Science and Technology Abstracts
Journals, books, research reports, and conference proceedings.

Library and Information Technology Abstracts
Indexes journals, books, research reports, and proceedings.

Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary books, articles and reference works covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

 


E-Books and E-Audiobooks [return to top]

 

E-Books (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary collection of ebooks  representing a wide range of research, reference, and reading materials.

E-Books (Ebsco Academic Collection)

E-Books (Ebsco Community College Collection)

E-Books (Ebsco Non-Fiction Collection)

Ebrary (Proquest)
Multidisciplinary ebooks covering academic and technical subjects.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of reference books such as biographies, education, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, the nation and world, religion, science, and social science.

OverDrive
Popular books and audiobooks-- fiction and nonfiction.

 


Education [return to top]

 

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database of articles and book chapters.

Ambrose Streaming Videos
Multidiciplinary documentaries and educational videos.

E-Books (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary collection of electronic books, representing a wide range of research, reference, and reading materials.

Ebrary (Proquest)
Ebooks covering academic and technical subjects.

Education Full Text
International articles and books.

Educational Administration Abstracts
Bibliographic records (limited full text) covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

ERIC
Articles, books, conference proceedings, curriculum guides, bibliographies, and literature reviews, U.S. Dept. of Education reports, Congressional hearings and reports as well as Educational Journals.

Films on Demand Streaming Videos

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of reference books such as biographies, education, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, the nation and world, religion, science, and social science.

MAS Ultra
Articles, reports, and special issues from 300 K-12 magazines as well historical documents, pamphlets, nearly 5,000 Magill Book Reviews.

MasterFILE Complete
Multidisciplinary article and general reference publications as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.

Middle Search Plus
Middle school magazine (with Lexiles); includes biographies, historical essays, primary source documents, reference books, photos, maps, and flags.

Primary Search
Articles from popular elementary school magazines (includes Lexiles). Easy-to-read encyclopedic & dictionary entries written specifically for kids as well as thousands of relevant photos, maps, and flags.

Professional Development Collection
Journal articles and educational reports.

Research Starters - Education
Comprehensive, yet concise topic summary articles on educational issues.

Teacher Reference Center
Abstracts (limited full text) of articles on educational issues.

Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary books, articles and reference works covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

 


English and Literature [return to top]

 

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database of article and book chapters.

Ambrose Streaming Videos
Multidiciplinary documentaries and educational videos.

Films on Demand
Streaming videos on multidisciplinary topics including english and literature.

Gale’s Literary Index
Master index to the major literature products produced by Gale.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of reference books such as biographies, education, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, the nation and world, religion, science, and social science.

Humanities Source
Articles and book reviews in all arts, literature, history.

Literary Reference Center
Plot summaries, synopses, work overviews, articles of literary criticism, book reviews, poems, short stories, novels, interviews, and images concerning thousands of authors and their works.

Novelist
Readers advisory for fiction includes synopses, reviews and book suggestions.

OverDrive
Popular Books and audiobooks-- fiction and nonfiction.

Salem Literature
Reference books such as the Critical Insights series as well as the recently revised Critical Survey of Long Fiction and Critical Survey of Poetry and Magill's Literary Annual and Masterplots, 4th Edition.

Short Story Index
Index to collections and anthologies of short stories.

Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary books, articles and reference works covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

 


General Reference [return to top]

 

Biography Reference Bank
Full text profiles of notable individuals from biographical reference books.

Credo Reference
Collection of quality reference books.

E-Books (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary collection of electronic books, representing a wide range of research, reference, and reading materials.

Ebrary (Proquest)
Ebooks covering academic and technical subjects

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of reference books such as biographies, education, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, the nation and world, religion, science, and social science.

Salem Press
Reference works in Health, History, Science and Literature.

Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary books, articles and reference works covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

 


History & Geography [return to top]

 

A to Z the World
Country guides to 175 nations and includes information on societies, cultures, and maps.

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database of article and book chapters.

Ambrose Streaming Videos
Multidiciplinary documentaries and educational videos.

Bibliography of Native North Americans
Articles on native North American culture, history, and life covering archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.

European Views of the Americas, 1493 to 1750
Guide to printed records from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of reference books such as biographies, education, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, the nation and world, religion, science, and social science.

History Reference Center
Reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and journal articles; includes biographies of historical figures, photos, and maps.

Humanities Source
Articles and book reviews.

Salem History
Reference books including Milestone Documents, The Decades, Lives from History and Great Events from History.

Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Multidisciplinary books, articles and reference works covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

 


Industrial/Manufacturing/Technical [return to top]

 

E-Books (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary collection of electronic books, representing a wide range of research, reference, and reading materials.

Ebrary (Proquest)
Ebooks covering academic and technical subjects.

Films on Demand
Streaming videos on multidisciplinary topics including industrial, manufacturing and other techical skills related topics.

KnowledgeEdge
700 industrial/manufacturing training and workforce development videos and clips.

Vocational and Career Collection
Articles from trade and industry-related periodicals.

 


Law [return to top]

 

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database of article and book chapters.

CQ Public Affairs Researcher
In-depth coverage of public policy issues, statistical and historical analyses, and full-text historical documents and primary source materials.

Films on Demand
Streaming videos on multidisciplinary topics including law.

Legal Collection
Journal articles on criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment.

WestlawNext Campus Research
Research service for legal cases; state and federal. (Password required - contact your library)

 


Library and Information Science [return to top]

 

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database of article and book chapters.

E-Books (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary collection of electronic books, representing a wide range of research, reference, and reading materials.

Ebrary (Proquest)
Ebooks covering academic and technical subjects.

Middle and Junior High Core Collection
A collection development tool containing book recommendations of 19,000 nonfiction works, fiction, and short story collections for children and adolescents.

Information Science and Technology Abstracts
Journals, books, research reports, and conference proceedings.

Library and Information Technology Abstracts
Indexes journals, books, research reports, and proceedings.

Senior High Core Collection (H.W. Wilson)
Collection development tool for librarians of students grades 9-12.

Serials Directory
Bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials.

WorldCat
WorldCat is the world’s largest library catalog. More than 10,000 libraries (including Hinds) have their holdings here.

 


Music [return to top]

 

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database of article and book chapters.

Films on Demand
Streaming videos on multidisciplinary topics including music.

Humanities Source
Articles and book reviews.

Music Index
Indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry as well as book reviews, obituaries, news. Classical and popular.

 


News Sources [return to top]

 

NBC Learn
14,000 standards-aligned resources designed for use in the classroom. NBC Learn is only licensed to schools and universities.

Newspaper Source
Selected full text for 114 major U.S. and international newspapers dating back to 1995.

Regional Business News
80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States

 


Nursing and Allied Health [return to top]

 

AHFS Consumer Medication Information
American Society of Health-System Pharmacists provide education on medications for patients.

Alt HealthWatch
Complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness and articles.

Consumer Health Complete
Health and wellness articles from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.

E-Books (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary collection of electronic books, representing a wide range of research, reference, and reading materials.

Ebrary (Proquest)
Ebooks covering academic and technical subjects

Films on Demand
Streaming videos on multidisciplinary topics including medical sciences.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly articles of nursing and allied health.

Natural and Alternative Treatments
Alternative medicine; 700 evidence-based articles covering medical conditions, alternative therapies, herbs and supplements, functional foods, drug interactions, and homeopathy.

Nursing and Allied Health Source (Proquest)
Articles and videos on allied health.

Nursing Reference Center
1,300 continuing education modules created by CINAHL Information Systems, an accredited continuing education provider by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) and the International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET). Nurses who successfully complete NRC’s continuing educational modules can obtain contact hours and earn CEUs.

PubMed (MedLine)
PubMed (MedLine) is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 19 million citations from MEDLINE database as well as references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics.

Salem Health
Reference works such as Magill’s Medical Guide.

Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary books, articles and reference works covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

 


Pro/Con Issues [return to top]

 

CQ Public Affairs Collection
In-depth coverage of vital public policy issues, statistical and historical analyses, and full-text historical documents and primary source materials.

CQ Researcher
Current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries with insight into all sides of the issues.

Issues and Controversies
Articles, videos and debate essays on hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.

NBC Learn
14,000 standards-aligned resources designed for use in the classroom. NBC Learn is only licensed to schools and universities.

Opposing Viewpoints
Articles, video, audio streams, podcasts, images and pro/con essays about controversial issues.

Points of View Reference Center
Articles and essays on controversial issues that present multiple sides of a current issue. Includes questions for further thought and stud accompanied by thousands of supporting articles.

SIRS Researcher
Reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues.

TOPICsearch
Articles from international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

 


Psychology and Social Science [return to top]

 

A to Z the World
Country guides to 175 nations and includes information on societies, cultures, and maps.

E-Books (EBSCO)
Mulitdisciplinary collection of electronic books, representing a wide range of research, reference, and reading materials.

Ebrary (Proquest)
Ebooks covering academic and technical subjects.

Films on Demand
Streaming videos on multidisciplinary topics including psychology and the social sciences.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of reference books such as biographies, education, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, the nation and world, religion, science, and social science.

Gender Studies Abstracts
Citations (limited full text) to articles, web sites and documents pertaining to sexual diversity issues.

Humanities Source
Articles and book reviews.

Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection
Articles on emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, andobservational & experimental methods.

Race Relations Abstracts
Bibliographic records (limited full text) covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Research Starters - Sociology
Comprehensive, yet concise topic summary articles of  written by experts.

Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary books, articles and reference works covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

 


Religion and Philosophy [return to top]

 

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary article and book chapters.

E-Books (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary collection of electronic books, representing a wide range of research, reference, and reading materials.

Ebrary (Proquest)
Ebooks covering academic and technical subjects

Films on Demand
Streaming videos on multidisciplinary topics including religion and philosophy.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of reference books such as biographies, education, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, the nation and world, religion, science, and social science.

Humanities Source
Articles and book reviews.

Religion & Philosophy Collection
Articles on topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

 


Science (Biology, Chemistry, and Environment) [return to top]

 


Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary article and book chapters.

Ambrose Streaming Videos
Multidiciplinary documentaries and educational videos.

AGRICOLA
Agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators.

Environment Complete
Journal articles dating back to 1888.

Films on Demand
Streaming videos on multidisciplinary topics including the sciences.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of reference books such as biographies, education, the environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, the nation and world, religion, science, and social science.

GreenFile
Journal articles concerning global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.

Salem Science
Health reference works, such as the Encyclopedia of Mathematics & Society, Encyclopedia of Energy, Encyclopedia of Global Resources, and Encyclopedia of Global Warming.

Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary books, articles and reference works covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

 

 


Theatre and Dance [return to top]

 

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary article and book chapters.

Ambrose Streaming Videos
Multidiciplinary documentaries and educational videos.

Films on Demand

Humanities Source
Articles and book reviews.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
Journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.

 


Videos

[return to top]

 

Ambrose Streaming Videos
Multidiciplinary documentaries and educational videos.

Films on Demand
Streaming videos on topics in Anthropology, Art & Architecture, Biology, Business & Economics, Careers & Job Search, Communication, Criminal Justice & Law, Earth and Environmental Science, Education, Technology and Engineering, English, Family & Consumer Sciences, Geography, Health & Nursing & Medicine, History, Mathematics, Music & Dance, Philosophy & Religion, Political Science, Psychology & Sociology, Technical & Trade Education, and World Languages.

KnowledgeEdge
700 industrial/manufacturing training and workforce development videos and clips

Swank
Selected box-office hits, independent features, documentaries, international movies and classics